31 1b7a3

Asoka Vidyalaya, Colombo was crowned the All Island ‘Milo’ Schools Under 14 Rugby Champions 2016, conducted by the Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Association and work-off at the Ruwanwella Public grounds recently.

Over 400 schoolboys from 28 schools participated in this mega event and Asoka Vidyalaya and Mahinda College gave a fine exhibition of Rugby in the finals where fortunes swung from side to side until the final whistle was blown with Asoka Vidyalaya in the lead.

In the battle for the shield Wickremabahu National School didn’t find things difficult to beat Dutugamunu Madya Maha Vidyalaya, Buttala while Sarasavi Uyana Vidyalaya and Sri Rahula College, Katugastota winning the Bowl and Plate championships respectively.

Final Results at-a-glance:

Cup – Asoka Vidyalaya, Colombo beat Mahinda College, Galle
Shield – Dutugamunu Madya Vidyalaya, Buttala (7) beat Wikkramabahu National School (Nil)
Bowl – Sarasavi Uyana Vidyalaya (12) beat Sumangala College, Panadura (7)
Plate – Sri Rahula College, Katugastota (21) beat Welagedera Madya Maha Vidyalaya (Nil) – Lakshaman Ranasinghe

32 d9217


Add comment

Security code