18 9c60c

Hameed Al Hussienie College, Colombo 12 emerged champions at the 10th Inter-School President’s Cup Invitation Football Tournament for the fourth successive year with an unbeaten record at the Racecourse ground. The tournament was organised by Hameed Al Hussienie College.

They emerged champions in 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2017. The tournament commenced in 2008 and was organised by the Group of 80s of Hameed Al Hussienie College. The tournament was sponsored by iDealsz Lanka.

This was the first time that the competition was conducted for the President’s Cup and for the first time that a head of state was there to give away the award when President Maithripala Sirisena made the presentation.

Twenty leading schools teams participated in the competition. In the final Hameed Al Hussienie defeated Maris Stella Negombo 5-4 on penalties after the game ended in a nil-all draw.

In the first match Hameed Al Hussienie defeated St. Benedict’s 2-1 and in the quarter-finals drubbed Nalanda College 4-0. In the semi-finals they smashed Zahira College Puttalam 6-0 and thus qualified for the finals.

19 0d65b

Maris Stella in their first match crushed Thurstan 5-0. In the quarters Maris Stella edged through to a 3-2 win on penalties over St. Peter’s. In the semi-finals Maris Stella beat De Mazenod Kandana 4-2 to be in the finals.

De Mazenod occupied the third place defeating Zahira Puttalam 6-2.

The Most Valuable Player in the Tournament was A.G. M.Sajid of Hameed Al Hussienie. The Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament was Mahendiran Dinesh of Hameed Al Hussienie. The Best Goal scorer was W.I. Fernando of Maris Stella College Negombo and the Man of the Match in the Final was M.A.J.M. Rishan of Hameed Al Hussienie.

The skipper of Hameed Al Hussienie is M.F.M. Aman. The Deputy Skipper is K.M. Fasli. The team’s Head Coach Is Imran Hussain. - Susil Premalal

Add comment

Security code